“No Religion?”

A Facebook friend recently responded to my question, “What would be the one ‘non-negotiable’ that would make church meaningful for you?” with the emphatic words… “No Religion!”  I had to pause and ponder this one…..

Many of us love the John Lennon song that encourages us to “Imagine…. no religion, too.” We sing along imagining a world at one, peace as a global reality, politics as a real servant of the people, and community based on love and respect, not stopping to think about the “no religion” part of it.

On one hand, I get my friend’s point exactly. Institutional religion has caused much harm in human history: from the supposed God-ordained genocide of the Hebrew Bible, to the hateful words of churches in North Carolina and the despicable actions of the Westboro Baptist “Church” terrorizing the funerals of fallen service members. There is a long and shameful litany of religion leading people into bigotry and hate, and the ever present tendency of religious communities to separate themselves from others and claim God’s special dispensation. I fully understand how so many people are tired of and offended by religion, and turned off by the traditions and practices that reflect this shameful history. Yet, I cannot believe this is the whole story.

In my personal experience, and my reading of the Christian scriptures, I understand God to be the essence of Love, who seeks the full humanity of all people, and withholds blessing and grace from no one. Religion is and always has been fundamentally and attempt to respond and experience this love in its fullness. Of course, we have gone astray. But religion itself isn’t fundamentally evil. Sometimes it is used for evil things, but it is intended to be a force for good in this world.

So, my FB Friend, I challenge you, myself, and anyone who reads this to think a bit differently. I too reject the orthodoxies and rituals that oppress and condemn. I too reject the theologies that belittle human beings and create a special class of “believers” to whom God selectively pours out the blessings of Heaven. I too reject the idea that God failed in God’s pursuit of humanity, and that most people who have and will ever live will spend eternity in Hell. I believe that humanity was and is created in the image of God, with the full capacity to love unconditionally. I believe our faith and the pursuit of human fullness is far more urgent and important than any religious activity, and that one’s personal spiritual journey, shared with a community in trust and love, has the ability to change the world for good.

Yes, I “Imagine.” I imagine a world where faith, of all varieties, contributes to the welfare of the world. and affirms the Divine Image in everyone. I don’t want a world with “No Religion.” I want a world that uses religious practice for the good it was intended.

What about you?

Leave a comment